Skip to content

Blog remodeling & off for the courthouse

July 28, 2008

I was up at 5 am this morning, even though I had the alarm set for 6:30. I’m rarely up this early, but soon I’ll be heading out to the county courthouse in Sunbury. My task list includes:

  • Try to find MHK’s will. (I know there had to have been one, and if there was, it is on file. And I must find it.)
  • See if the courthouse has any additional probate records, other than just the will books. Especially in the case of Darlington Kulp’s estate, there should be much more paperwork than a three-page will/administration.
  • Look up other wills, including those of: Clayton, Chester, Gilbert and Ella Kulp. (Howard moved to Lewistown, Mifflin County; unfortunately I have no access to those records at the moment.)

In other words, today will be spent in the Register of Wills office, and any basement rooms which may house additional records. I know the deed books are down there. And what a fascinating place the basement is! Long corridor, locked doors, stone walls, low ceilings, old books. Exciting!

I will try to get photos of the town and scenery, but my digital camera is low on batteries and my cell phone needs to be “topped up.” (Paid.) It’s 25 cents for every photo you email from the cell phone, so I won’t be able to send too many.

I have given the blog a new look. I am thinking of changing the header image, too, but I’ll need to work on that sometime. I also plan to change some of the pages around, and add new content. Hope this looks better!

And, after reading Ruth Stephens’ blog, Bluebonnet Country Genealogy, the other day, I followed her example and went and got myself a custom signature for my posts from MyLiveSignature.com. Nice site, might great for designing logos too, if you can use the white background.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ruth Stephens permalink
    July 28, 2008 9:40 am

    Your sigi looks great!

Leave a Reply

