Skip to content

Tree woes

June 22, 2008

I am rebuilding the Kulp/McConnell family tree; too much unsourced data and incorrect data for some of the more distant relations. In the new tree, I will be leaving out anyone whose name I can’t remember off the top of my head. I.e., less nonsense from Ancestry’s poorly written, user-submitted member trees.

However, even many of my own sources I just can’t remember, so I’m going to have to go out and find them again. I’ve decided to use Legacy Family Tree software, the standard edition of which is free and very useful. Much better than Ancestry. It’s ugly as sin but works well, it’s powerful, many-featured and easy to use. Ancestry loads like molasses in January and me on DSL, too. I had to try many different programs before deciding on this one–MyHeritage Family Tree Builder is excellent but won’t work on my Windows 98, needless to say PAF (Personal Ancestral File) is for the birds, and the Family Tree Legends interface is in a sorry condition. No family view, just pedigree. Hard to see everything at once, not to mention their icons are abominably un-serious. Furthermore their media system is worthless (not that I usually add much media to the tree, I like to keep that in the photo gallery).

But, there are problems with Legacy, too. It is messing up my computer. Keeps malfunctioning: “Runtime error.” “Out of memory.” Especially with the SourceWriter feature, it does that a lot. Just recently I got the infamous blue screen and had to CTRL-ALT-DEL my computer to sleep. I think my internet browser may also be causing problems with it; the error messages mentioned Firefox a few times.

But, I’m using Legacy’s To-Do list to keep track of everything I need to do in the rebuilding of the tree, plus in my general research. Must look up several obituaries in the library to clarify my sources and make sure I know what I’m talking about when it comes to those distant relations.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

